• facebook

What’s on the New CCNA exams? (200-120, 100-101, 200-101)

September 30 (today when I’m writing this) is the last day for the old Cisco CCNA tests. They have had the newer exams with new CCNA exam topics for quite some time but have finally drawn the line and now the old exams are no longer available:

  • 640-802 CCNA Composite
  • 640-822 ICND1
  • 640-816 ICND2

The exams above have been now replaced with the following exams:

  • 200-120 CCNA Composite
  • 100-101 ICND1
  • 200-101 ICND2

There’s a lot of confusion going on in the network community as to what is the difference between the old CCNA exams and the new CCNA exams. Cisco states on their Ciscopress website that the main reason for the change is because when the existing exams were updated (2007) mobile devices didn’t play such a huge role in the every day life of an IT professional. It was because of the shift in this technology that Cisco decided to do a big change so the individual who becomes CCNA certified is equipped with the proper knowledge to attack issues like BYOD.

Even though they state that the main change is BYOD, the changes aren’t restricted to only mobile devices and wireless. There are a few new topics they have added. Below is a table that shows the new and removed topics for the ICND1 100-101 and ICND2 200-101. The 200-120 CCNA is still just a composite of the new ICND1 and ICND2 exams.

New CCNA Exam Changes
Added Removed
100-101 ICND1 - Implementing VLSM
- Scaling the Network with NAT and PAT
- Managing Traffic Using ACLs
- Implementing VLANs and Trunks
- Routing Between VLANs
- Implementing single area OSPF
- Introducing Basic IPv6
- Understanding IPv6
- Configuring IPv6 Routing
- Securing the Network
- Understanding the Challenges of Shared LANs
- Solving Network Challenges with Switched LAN Technologies
- Wireless LANs
- Using Cisco SDM
- Configuring Serial Encapsulation
- Enabling RIP
200-101 ICND2 - Troubleshooting VLAN Connectivity
- Understand Spanning Tree Protocol
- Understand and configure Etherchannel
- Understand Layer 3 Redundancy Protocols
- Troubleshooting IPv4 Network Connectivity
- Troubleshooting IPv6 Network Connectivity
- Implementing EIGRP
- Troubleshooting EIGRP
- Implementing EIGRP for IPv6
- Multi-area OSPF IPv4 Implementation
- Understanding and configuring OSPFv3
- Understanding and configuring clients for SNMP, Syslog and Netflow
- Managing Cisco devices
- Understanding and verifying Cisco licensing
- Routing Between VLANs
- Securing the Expanded Network
- Implementing VLSM
- Scaling the Network with NAT and PAT


Since the CCNA 200-120 exam is just a combination of the two ICND exams, to figure out what is new and removed just look at that table above and it gives you exactly what is new or removed.

The biggest change that I’m seeing is the introduction of IPv6, including in the routing protocols. When I studied for my CCNP OSPFv3 and EIGRP for IPv6 were both on there but it’s crazy they’re now including those on the ICND1 and ICND2 exams! It makes sense though because we are already in the thick of IPv6 so CCNAs now days need to be up to date and understand the basics of how these work.

Don’t know how to start your CCNA? Check out my Kick-ass CCNA Guide.


Leave a reply